top of page
  • Taipei Kuei Shan School

KSS IBDP Visual Arts Exhibition 2019


IBDP Visual Arts is a course promises to be very challenging and rewarding experience for students to put in a lot of effort and time required for success. Students need support, guidance and help on their artistic journey. There are three primary areas of achievement which is studio work, sketches and investigation those are the keys for this class.


Last year was my 1st experience in teaching IB Visual Arts. It was challenging but confusing at first; I didn’t fully understand IB requirements or what the students needed. However, after a year of teaching, I learned a lot. I think what helped me the most was looking at last year’s VA HL marked components. I noticed our process portfolio grades were very low. I believe that was because last year we emphasized the process portfolio after the exhibition. So I changed the plan and this year we worked on the process portfolio while they worked on their studio work, not until after they had completed all of their projects.

Regularly working in their sketchbooks and researching other artists helped students to understand how they can express concepts and techniques. It also shows me how well they can grasp the technical and formal methods. Their projects reflect and convey personal elements; they show an awareness and an understanding of contemporary issues and concerns. In their visual journals they show a willingness to experiment with unfamiliar materials and analysis of other artists’ techniques. I believe this approach helped students to show evidence of a confident, inventive and wholly personal approach to their art-making. The class of 2019 have improved so much in their developing skills and personal style and they are also more adept at analyzing and annotating their own and other artworks. I think the biggest achievement is that all of my students passed IA IB Visual Arts and presented an amazing art exhibition

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page